Posted by: Avivah | December 10, 2008

Oat walnut burgers

Last night we had these oat walnut burgers for dinner; my kids always enjoy them.  My oldest son asked me what it is that makes them taste like they have meat in them, though they’re vegetarian (vegan, actually).  I think it’s the combination of flavors more than one particular ingredient that does it, but I’ll give you the recipe and you can make your own guesses.

Avivah’s Oat Walnut Burgers

  • 4 c. water
  • 1/2 c. Bragg’s amino acids (available at health food stores)
  • 1 c. finely chopped walnuts (I buy the halves or pieces and whiz them in the food processor)
  • 1/4 c. nutritional yeast (I usually don’t have this around so I leave it out)
  • 1 T. dried basil
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. sage
  • 4 c. rolled oats

Combine all ingredients except for oats and boil.  Stir in oats once mix boils.  Remove from heat, let cool.  Make patties – I use a 1/4 c. mixture for each burger, and flatten it slightly once it’s on the baking pan.  Bake on oiled sheet (I used parchment paper instead) and bake for 12- 15 minutes at 350 degrees, or until browned.

Avivah


Responses

  1. […] Monday – b – sweet potato rounds with almond sauce; l – cheesy cauliflower soup; d – oat walnut burgers […]

  2. These look great – don’t make too often though b/c walnuts are high in Omega 6s – I’m a little scared of walnuts now because they have over 50% Omega 6, which leads to inflammation / heart disease / low metabolism.


Leave a comment

Categories