Posted by: Avivah | June 14, 2009

Crustless Broccoli Quiche

Here’s the recipe for the quiche that was such a big hit at ds’s birthday dinner this evening:

Crustless Broccoli Quiche

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 c. chopped fresh broccoli (can use frozen, too)
  • 8 oz cheese, shredded or diced
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. mayonnaise
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute the onion and garlic in butter.  I cooked the broccoli in butter, too, but you don’t have to do that – I think it adds a good flavor, though.  Then mix the cheese, eggs, milk, mayonnaise, and spices together, and add to the vegetables.  Pour into a pie pan, and bake at 350 degrees for thirty minutes or until set.

Alternatively, you can use 1 1/2 c. milk instead of a combo of milk and mayo – I’ve been using mayo in quiche since I was married, and like how it sets.  But if I was out of it, I’d use the full amount of milk instead of making a batch of mayonnaise just for this recipe. 

We quadrupled this recipe, and it made three regular pie pans and one very full 9 x 13 pan.  That was just the right amount for dinner for us.  I also added a handful of chopped plantain leaves to the veggies that were sauteeing – nothing like having freshly harvested greens to add nutritional value to your meals!

Avivah 


Responses

  1. How do you check fresh broccoli??? 🙂

  2. I’ll have to ask my husband, who checks it for me. The advantages of having a mashgiach for a husband. :))

  3. lol Lucky you!!

  4. Yes, I am very fortunate! I told dh he’ll have to tell me how he checks it so I can post how he does it for everyone else who isn’t as blessed as me!

  5. […] homemade whole wheat bread, peanut butter and mulberry jam (homemade), grapefruit; lunch – broccoli cauliflower quiche, potato pudding, coleslaw; dinner – Greek lemon egg drop […]


Leave a comment

Categories